Old wood

I remember making a fruit bowl at school out of wood. I used all sorts of different tools, some of which were very sharp and I remember spending a great deal of time carefully sanding it to get rid of all the rough edges. Weeks it took me.

Mr Old was my woodwork teacher and he’d walk around the workshop in his white coat offering advice and generally smelling of sawdust.

It was our last day working on the fruit bowl project before we were to be let loose creating a stool with woven seagrass. We were all looking forward to that.

There were some impressive bowls in the class. Hours of hard work. Mr Old was beside himself with what had been achieved. Until he got to me.

“I hope you are studying something else, young man,” was his reaction to my carpentry.

Years later, when we were clearing out the old family home I found the seagrass stool. Father had modernised it, added some extra stability and restrung the grass. The fruit bowl, on the other hand, was nowhere to be seen.

Today, as I screwed the end of my shoe to the decking, Mr Old’s words echoed in my head and I wondered just how many of my classmates actually went on to be carpenters.

3 thoughts on “Old wood

  1. Nice writing style, I try to write like this too. But my blog is quite archaeological and I am crafting longbows and arrows naturally based on archaeological evidence. This can get boring, so creative sort works best I find! I am in Northern Norway working at the Lofotr Viking museum, working in a 9th century longhouse of wood really opened my eye to the importance of carpentry in the past, I hope to read more from you soon.

    Like

    • Thanks for you kind comments. Will check out your blog. Your work sounds fascinating. My oqn interests include sound recording and I bet you have some interesting sounds working with wood.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah we do, particularly with the big iron saw that they copied from a 9th century tool chest they found in Gotland, Sweden. They named it ‘Bear’ on account of the whooshing growl it makes when I bights into the wood! 🙂 I do a bit of sound recording too. I always wanted to start a project where by we use archaeological evidence to recreate all the sounds of a house or room and village, and Crete a selection of ancient atmospheric soundtracks with them.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

