It’s only a little thing…

… but it really makes me mad. To be completely honest I’ve been seething about this all day.

I’ve managed to keep it bottled up, until now, but I feel as though I need to get it off my chest and I apologise in advance for any offence I may cause.

{Sharp intake of breath}

A infuriating message from Words With Friends

A infuriating message from Words With Friends

There is no such thing as UK English. It’s English. There may be a case for derivatives of English, like US English, but English is English. You don’t get UK Chinese or Scottish Spanish or Hindu Gaelic. So it’s English.

Male pig

For over a year I’ve been playing Words With Friends using the English dictionary – which I have to say did throw up some anomalies from time to time. Now I discover that Words With Friends have introduced a set of new languages, one of which is ‘UK English’, which is English. But it isn’t.

Within hours they tell me that the word ‘hog’ is unacceptable. Hog. Unacceptable.

Hog.

You can see why I’m upset.

And for the love of God don’t go here – Cambridge Dictionaries Online – unless you want to see the beginning of the end of civilisation.

Leave a Reply

