Hobbies

A paphiopedilum prchid

A paphiopedilum orchid

Mother always used to joke that my hobby was collecting hobbies. I’d have a new one every week. Usually my interest would be sparked by something on the TV or something someone else was doing and I liked the look of.

I’d rush into it, wanting all the kit, then after a week or so I’d get bored and spot something else far more exciting.

Stamp collecting; I needed the proper albums and hinges, magnifying glass and tweezers. And Books – Observers Book of Stamps, Stamp Collecting for beginners, Stamps of the World.
Rocks; little hammer, magnifying glass. And Books – Observers Book of Rocks, Rocks and Minerals for Beginners.
Paper making; paper making kit, magnifying glass. Books.
Model making; kits or bits of wood, plans, magnifying glass. Books.
Origami; paper (home made and shop bought), plans, magnifying glass. Books.

Part of my problem was (and still is), I’m not very patient. I like thing to happen fairly quickly, which is why I struggle a bit with gardening. Some elements happen really quickly, like grass and weeds growing, while bulbs and seeds take months and months.

A spider orchid

A spider orchid

I think Mother finally lost her patience with me when we couldn’t move in the house for books and magnifying glasses.

One of the things I’d always wanted to do was grow Orchids. I just never got round to doing it. So today while out I bought a couple of specimens (as us ‘orchid growers’ call them). They appear to be fairly straight forward to look after, although I will need to get a book about them so that I can do it right. (In fact I’ve just ordered it online, it’ll be here tomorrow).

And I may need a Green House.

I’ve also been told that I need to give up one of my other hobbies to make way for this one. So if anyone knows of anyone in need of a set of 16 crochet hooks or a ton of Hama beads then let me know.

I’m also on the look out for a good orchid growers magnifying glass.

Leave a Reply

