Bake off

The ingredients are ready. The flour weighed out, eggs counted (although one and a half eggs isn’t easy to do), baking powder (again three quarters of a teaspoon isn’t easy). I’ve juiced and grated half a lemon and sorted out the sugar and fat. It’s like one of Mary Berry’s technical challenges, except technically it isn’t as I’m not in a tent with Mel and Sue with Paul Whatshisname looking at me as though I’ve just suggested I’m going to flavour my cake with fire lighters.

Traditional Great British Bake Off pose

So it’s no Great British Bake Off but the pressure is still on. I’m cooking up Mary’s recipe for Lemon Drizzel cake for a Macmillan Coffee Morning event. I will be judged.

So how do you do an egg and a half? I thought about mixing two eggs together and then measuring how much there was and then pouring away a quarter. What I actually do is an egg and a yolk. Paul would doubt my sanity with a look that could sour dough, while Mary would be full of praise and we’d crack open the Amontillado and talk about fondant icing.

The finished cake

Mary suggests the ‘all in one’ method for her cake. I’m more of a ‘cream the sugar and fat’ kind of guy, but I’m prepared to give it a go. So everything goes in the bowl.

Everything gets mixed together. Everything then goes in the tin which goes in the oven for 35 minutes.

The final stage is the drizzling of the lemon from which the cake gets its name. I expected some sort of ceremony, but basically you mix the lemon juice with sugar and pour ‘drizzle’ it over the warm cake.

The proof of the pudding is in the tasting, sadly I’ll not be doing any of that. So I’ll just have wait for the judges’ comments. In the meantime, I’ll raise my glass to Mary and wish everyone good health (not that I doubt my cooking).

One thought on “Bake off

Leave a Reply

