A little light has come on

A little light shaped like an engine

A little light shaped like an engine

A little light has come on. It’s shaped like an engine.

The handbook says that this is bad and I shouldn’t drive. Which has come as a bit of a blow because I was expecting to be driving for at least another fifteen years or so. Perhaps longer if we have guide dog drivers for the old in the future.

I pulled into a garage and asked them if they could tell me what the fault was as I needed to be in Sheringham for 10am. I was thinking that if the light had only come on to indicate that the faulty engine light was working I’d be able to get on wth my day.

The guy behind the counter said the earliest they could see me was 10.30. “Do you think it’s safe to drive to Sheringham?” I asked. “Can’t say. If a light has come on then it’s come on for a reason.” Yeah, that’s what I thought.

The handbook was’t much help. They have a little light in the shape of an oil can to tell you that you are low on oil. There’s a light in the shape of a petrol pump to indicate you are low on petrol. There’s a battery shaped one that tells you that your battery is low on power. There’s even one in the shape of a door to show you that the massive draft is down to the fact that a door is open.

But the engine shaped one only tells you that there’s something not right. No indication of what it is that you are low of, other than the ability to get where you want to go.

So now, until I can get it booked in, I’m without a car and will have to reply on public transport to get me to Sheringham tomorrow and London on Wednesday. What could possibly go wrong?

Leave a Reply

